Company for the road ahead

Alright folks, this one’s gonna be a bit mushy. If you can’t handle this kind of stuff it’s okay, not everyone can; it’s only for the strong at heart.

Yesterday I had my first heartfelt goodbye. It felt surreal, I had no idea how to react to it all. The best way to describe it is, I felt like I was losing my virginity to a cougar in her mid forty’s. Or even better, like a female being complimented on her beauty that she’s been oblivious to all her life. I played it cool on the surface but within there was a mixture of bewilderedness, solemness and  amazement. After we exchanged hugs and made goodbyes walk the plank that was our tongues, we parted ways. I sat down for a moment to imbibe this foreign ritual and as it festered, there in the pit of my stomach grew an emptiness as the distance between us grew also.

When the moment became real to me, my thoughts echoed this “I actually miss them”. An interesting fact about me, I’m usually indifferent in these situations. Not that I don’t care I’ve never allowed myself to become so invested in people on that level. lately, though I’ve been putting myself out there a bit more which resulted in this little occurrence . Now that I’ve gotten that disclaimer out of the way, back to the matter at hand.

To think that a month ago the existence of these people meant nothing to me, now they’re imprinted in my mind for life. This may not be a big deal for most people but when you’re an introvert stuff like this is kinda monumental–okay not monumental but it is significant. 

Image

Meet Jackson and Amanda. They won’t like that picture I chose but they’ll get over it…eventually.(probably not gonna get my poptart from Amanda now :/) These two are the coolest people I’ve met in a while. Jackson can be impulsive which makes every moment around him a chance for a hardy laugh. Amanda is a player, pimp, mac with the cheese. I also think she has a dark side luckily I didn’t get to see it though. How did we meet you ask? We found out we all liked the same candy one day and decided that we should hang out. I kid, I kid. They were on a Mission’s trip here, helping out the less fortunate being saints and all that good stuff. I think they were just trying to suck up to God to get a condo in heaven if you ask me. I’m just playing. It would be interesting if they did get one though. I call dibs on the flat screen! 

They say many people will walk in and out of your life but only friends will leave a footprint on your heart. Thats some painful stuff when you think about it. I mean stepping on someone’s heart and leaving a footprint, it’s not right man. But you guys get the meaning though behind it. If you don’t then I can’t help you with that I’m just as lost as you are.

I hope I get to see em again soon.(I want my poptart when I visit) 

I guess that’s all for now until next time 

 

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

